How Can We Stay Calm When Our Children Don’t Listen To Us?

by krissdusel

Great post!!! I have been in similar situations many times where the anger and fight become soooo much bigger than the initial problem.

allisoncarmen

Kerze im Rosenblättermeer

“To conquer oneself is a greater task than conquering others”- Buddha 

Last year, my daughter came down with a sore throat and cold, 
but she really pushed herself to keep going to school. She kept pushing 
until one morning I forbade her to go to school and took her to the 
doctor. All that pushing of hers had resulted in a case of bronchitis. 
In my mind I decided that she had gotten bronchitis because she was 
rundown from staying up late doing homework and it therefore followed that this would need to stop.

So that night I put my almost 
fourteen-year-old daughter with bronchitis to bed at 8 pm. She was very angry about the early bedtime and sat on the floor and refused to 
get into bed. She came out of her room at least 15 times during the 
evening and the anger in me escalated. I took…

View original post 575 more words

